My Milan Fashion Week Diary…

As the fashion world descends on Milan during fashion week, I always think the city comes alive with a special energy and buzz. Crowds of stylish girls chat over their expresso, models can been seen running from show to show, street-style photographers stand poised on every corner and A-List celebrities can be spotted strutting about town.

Screen Shot 2016-03-04 at 12.38.38

(my look for day two of milan fashion week)

I knew I was going to be busy, so like a true Stylist, I began by planning all my outfits and getting my nails done at Bahama Mama – a beauty salon frequented by Milan’s coolest fashionistas, designers and bloggers. I also kitted out my handbag with everything I could possibly need like business cards, a portable phone charger, healthy snacks and ballerina pumps so I could survive my long days in the city.

I kicked everything off on Wednesday morning with the show of Genny. In true Italian style, attendee’s were welcomed with a breakfast of strong expresso and mini-pastries before filing in to take their seats. I really love Genny for their elegant and feminine style and their new collection was as fantastic as I expected. I saw references to the 1920’s, metallics, sequins and soft, tailored shapes. I loved it!

After that I ran over to the show of Kristina Ti. In Milan it seems everything starts ‘fashionably late‘ so even if two shows are scheduled to start one after the other, the chances are you can attend both as neither will start on time! Kristina Ti’s new collection showed girly retro prints, metallic details and jewel tones of raspberry, teal and red.

On Thursday I attended the show of Anteprima. I love this brand so much and always include looks from their collections when I shoot for big magazines. They are elegant and feminine but also have a really cool edge which I think is a great combination. The show was hosted inside the beautiful Palazzo Del Senato and when I arrived, bloggers and photographers were crowding the entrance taking snaps of the stylish guest arriving. Milanese girls are naturally so stylish and I saw designer handbags, oversized fur coats and towering heels galore. Anteprima’s new collection was beautiful. Classic, elegant styles were infused with retro, metallic details and strong colors of yellow, turquoise, purple and raspberry.

The rest of the afternoon was spend attending presentations. I saw new collections from accessories brands Santoni and Federica Berardelli and attended the Vogue Talents corner. Here young designers selected by Vogue are given a space to display their new collection. Its great for discovering the latest in new talents and having the opportunity to speak directly to the designers about their work. My favorites were colorful brands Anouki and Laurence & Chico.

Afterwards I had a much needed coffee before heading over to my last show – Byblos.

On Friday I checked out the newest addition to MFW, the Fashion Hub. Located in the cities new Porta Nuova district the Fashion Hub is the headquarters of fashion week. If you need anything from wifi, coffee, computers to phone chargers this is the place to go. There are even stands from L’Oreal and Mac where you can book a free make-over! Top young talents are selected to display their collections here so it is great to see up and coming brands. I fell in LOVE with accessories designer Gebede and their collection of jewel covered snakeskin bags and shoes. After that it was over to Palazzo Reale for the Uma Wang show.

Saturday saw my biggest celebrity show – Ermanno Scervino. The event was abuzz with paparazzi, bloggers and fashionistas and it seems its as much about who’s attending and what they are wearing as it is about the show. On the front row I saw Vogue Japan editor Anna Della Russo, famous Fashion Blogger Tamu McPherson and international superstar models Lucky Blue and Pyper America Smith! The atmosphere was electric and everyone was chatting and posing for photos on the runway before the show started. I was in love with the collection which included colorful fur, lace dresses and tweed twin-sets.

Fashion Week wrapped up on the Monday and I had the shows of Arthur Arbesser, San Andres and Lucio Vanotti. These designers are set to be the next big thing on the Italian fashion scene so I was really excited to see what they had to offer. Arthur Arbesser’s show was housed inside a warehouse in the urban zone of Via Tortona and showed retro influences in metallic gold, yellow velvet and bright blue. And Lucio Vanotti, who is said to be the next Giorgio Armani, showed beautiful minimal looks to a soundtrack of crashing waves.

Grazie mille Milan for an incredible fashion week!

Want to learn more about my adventures at Milan Fashion Week? Read my post The Hottest Places to Check Out During Fashion Week

 

4 thoughts on “My Milan Fashion Week Diary…

Leave a Reply

