My Winter Reading Guide…

I don’t know about you guys but as winter comes in I love chilling on my sofa under a big blanket, drinking tea and reading books.  Right now we are having a four day weekend in Milan (yay!) and as I have been so busy with photo shoots, I am taking the whole weekend to relax and take it easy.  That means baking mince pies, decorating the house for Christmas and reading lots of books.  Here is my reading list in the run up to Christmas…

Screen shot 2015-12-07 at 14.07.28

(photo taken from pinterest.com)

The Blazing World by Siri Hustvedt.  I just finished this book and it is amazing.  Written in a strange biographical way, full of personal accounts, interviews and journal extracts, The Blazing World tells the story of female artist Harriet Burden who conducts an experiment by presenting her work behind male fronts to see if women are treated differently in the art world.  The story is really interesting.

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde.  I love reading and I am slightly embarrassed to say I have never read any of the classics, the reason being I always imagine them to be long and wordy and slightly boring!  But I decided this winter I should at least give one a go and I decided to start with this one.  It’s actually amazing!  I started it on Friday and I am already half way through!

Girl Boss by Sophia Amoruso.  I haven’t read this one yet but it is written by owner of amazing online store Nasty Gal.  It’s all about the growth of Sophia’s career through Fashion, how she set up Nasty Gal and is full of advise for other girls wanted to build a successful career too.

Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee.  I read To Kill a Mocking Bird at school and I loved it.  The story is so sad and real and I found it really touching.  So I have been waiting to read to stories sequel, set two decades later, since it came out this summer.

I love being recommended new books, so let me know what you are reading in the comments below or check out my summer reading list for more book ideas…

Like what you read… Don’t forget to follow me on Blog Lovin!

2 thoughts on “My Winter Reading Guide…

  1. Pingback: Postive Vibes – 17 Things I am Thankful For This Christmas… – Allegra Ghiloni

  2. Pingback: My Spring Reading List – Allegra Ghiloni

Leave a Reply

