My Eight Essentials for Fashion Week Success…

Milan Fashion Week is nearly upon us and for myself and many other fashion people next week is going to be a whirlwind of events, presentations and fashion shows, not to mention blogging about it afterwards!  I am really excited, because fashion week is one of my favourite times of the year and I love the buzz and energy going on in the city.  But having experienced a few fashion weeks now, I know it can get pretty chaotic at times.  I have learnt that to have the most fun possible I need to be armed with a few essentials, and I thought I would share those with you today as we start getting ready for the exciting week ahead…

8 Essentials For Fashion Week Success.jpg

Comfortable Shoes!!! I cannot stress this enough! Comfortable shoes are a major necessity during Fashion Week.  You will be moving from event to event all day and well into the evening so you need some shoes that are going to serve you well.  This year I have invested in two pairs of cute, low heels so I still look chic but I wont have shooting pains up my legs by the end of day one!

Portable Phone Charger. Like I said you will be on the go all day, and definitely will be using your phone to tweet, Snapchat and Instagram about all the cool things you are seeing.  Plus using Google Maps to navigate your way from show to show, so your phone is going to be as busy as you are next week.  To avoid getting stranded in the wrong part of the city or missing a perfect photo op bring a portable charger so you can keep your phone juiced up all day.

Healthy Snacks.  Being on the go all day makes you hungry and there isn’t necessarily time to stop and eat, so I recommend bringing along some healthy snacks to eat on the move.  I love chocolate rice cakes, granola bars and goji berries for a quick energy fix.

City Map App.  Presentations and shows are held all over the city and are not always so easy to find.  Using one of the many city map apps available to download will help you navigate your way around the city quickly and stress-free.  If you work in the fashion industry I recommend downloading GPS Radar.  It allows you to sync all your invitations into one handy calendar and have downloadable maps for each location – so helpful!

Metro Card.  A weekly metro card will save you from the long queues every time you need to buy a ticket and it even works out cheaper if you are moving around a lot.

Notebook & Pen.  So you can take notes about the new collections, street style and cool places you discover while exploring the city.  Plus don’t forget to pack some business cards so you can give your contact out to people you meet.

Beauty Kit. I always bring along a bright lipstick, facial powder, hand-cream, nail files, mini-perfum and gum to keep me looking and feeling fresh all day.

A big handbag. And finally a big handbag to put everything in.  I think a big, black leather tote is really chic and looks good with most outfits.

And there you have it, my essentials for Fashion Week success.  What items can’t you live without during Fashion Week?

Like what you read… Don’t forget to follow me on Blog Lovin!

6 thoughts on “My Eight Essentials for Fashion Week Success…

  1. Pingback: Fun in the City – Fashion Film Festival & Vogue Fashion Night Out | allegraghiloni

  2. Pingback: My favourite Fashion Designers at the Vogue Talents Corner… | allegraghiloni

  3. Pingback: Milan Fashion Week Survival Guide… – Allegra Ghiloni

  4. Pingback: Ciao Milano – 20 Reasons I Am Happy to be Back – Allegra Ghiloni

Leave a Reply

