Ayurveda Healing Massage – Feeling Zen in Arugam Bay…

I always love to learn about new beauty therapy techniques and when travelling I love to try beauty practices traditional to the local culture. In Sri Lanka ‘Ayurveda Healing Techniques’ are widely used and upon arrival I was really excited to try it out for myself.

Ayurveda is an ancient Indian healing treatment. The philosophy of Ayurveda treats the mind, body and soul as inter- related properties, all needing to be in balance to have a healthy body and life. It focuses on treating the root causes of beauty problems or ill-health. The techniques involve using massage and natural plant beauty products to deeply cure and remove toxins from the body. Indian Head Massage, Deep Tissue Massage and Full Body Massage using organic and natural oils are all treatments practised at Ayurveda Spas.

In Arugam Bay I saw many Ayurveda Spas attached to the beautiful, bohemian resorts lining the beach.  But I decided instead to try my treatment at Arugam Bay Ayurveda Healing Centre (a natural healing spa used by the locals) for a more authentic experience. I signed up for a Deep Tissue Full Body Massage & Indian Head Massage. I was greeted by my massage therapist and taken to by own cabana where soft mantra music was playing and scented incense was burning. She started by asking about my health and any areas of tension in my body – I have terrible shoulders from always carrying heavy bags of clothes to and from photo shoots! She selected a special oil for my treatment called Abhyangam Oil which detoxifies and revitalises the body while also working as an anti-ageing and anti-stress treatment and the massage focussed on the deep muscle tissue and removing tension.

The treatment was amazing and after I felt so relaxed. I really recommend it to you when you are visiting Sri Lanka or India yourself.  Since my massage I have continued my Zen feeling by doing a Yoga class overlooking beach every morning at the beautiful Bay Vista Hotel.

3 thoughts on “Ayurveda Healing Massage – Feeling Zen in Arugam Bay…

  1. Pingback: Arugam Bay – My Beach Town Guide | allegraghiloni

  2. Pingback: My First Impressions of Sri Lanka… – Allegra Ghiloni

  3. Pingback: Postive Vibes – Ways to Feel Amazing This January… – Allegra Ghiloni

Leave a Reply

