My First Impressions of Sri Lanka…

image

We have been in Sri Lanka now for five days and are currently staying in the beach town Arugam Bay on the islands East Coast.  We will be here for another nine days and then we begin our one week road trip around the inside of the island.  As I love to travel, I have already visited several Asian countries, but I have to say Sri Lanka is unique to anywhere else I have been before.  The culture has very strong Indian influences and I am absolutely loving learning about and experiencing a culture that is new to me.

My first impression is that the people here are so kind and friendly. Everyone seems genuinely happy to help and wants to make sure we have a great time in their home.  People want to explain the culture and history and show us special places of interest like secret beach spots or the best places to see wildlife (today we were shown twelve wild elephants grazing on open farmland!).

Also the food is also incredible. We have tried colourful and exotic curries, coconuts fresh from the trees, fried doughy bread filled with vegetables or bananas (called rotti’s) brought from roadside venders and healthy fresh fruits smoothies. Everything has been so full of flavor and very spicy! We are loving this new food experience.

I love how much life there is to absorb here. I feel like walking through the streets is a trip for the senses. There is sweet incense burning outside shops creating beautiful perfumed scents. There is always music playing loudly from inside shops or people on the beach dancing and singing with drums and bells. And I am so inspired by the colourful Sari’s the women wear here. I am in love with the bright mix of patterns and silky materials, beads and embroidery.

And finally the abundance of wildlife that seems to be here. In five days we have already seen elephants, monkeys, buffalo, peacocks, parrots, giant dragonflies and butterflies to name just a few!

So far Sri Lanka is winning my heart and I cannot wait to see what the next eighteen days has in store. I cannot wait to share with you our next discoveries soon

6 thoughts on “My First Impressions of Sri Lanka…

  1. Lovely post. I’ve visited Sri Lanka a few years back and I have to say it is beautiful! Hope you’re enjoying your time there.
    – glimpsesofadventures.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. Pingback: Sri Lanka Holiday Roadtrip Playlist | allegraghiloni

  3. Pingback: Sri Lanka Holiday Packing… – Allegra Ghiloni

  4. Pingback: Arugam Bay – My Beach Town Guide – Allegra Ghiloni

  5. Pingback: Happy to be Home… – Allegra Ghiloni

Leave a Reply

