Amsterdam Style – My lowdown on the cities shops.

At the end of my week assisting in Amsterdam I found I had a day to myself before my flight home.  We had been working so hard everyday so I was really grateful for some time for myself and also an opportunity to explore the city.  When I was here the week before I noticed lots of cool shop and now I had some time, I was desperate to check them out.

Amsterdam has lots of interesting neighborhoods that I could spend days cycling around, but on Saturday I focused on the ‘Nine Street’ of Jordaan’.  This is nine little streets running against the canals which are full of independent boutiques, cool vintage shops and lots of cute cafes.  I spent all afternoon exploring and have made a list of my favorite finds to share with you.

  • We Are Labels. Working with a range of smaller, international brands the store sell a mix of cool, fashionable pieces but at really good prices.  Looks had a kind of ‘Urban Outfitters’ vibe, but were unique and stylish.  I wanted to buy everything!
  • Love Stories is a beautiful boutique label making pretty and girly lingerie sets.  They create pieces with velvet, ribbon, lace and silk in an amazing combination of colours like ‘electric blue & leopard print’ or ‘burgundy & bottle green’. They sell pretty one pieces to wear at home or cute two-piece sets.  I loved them all.
  • For vintage finds I loved Episode! The basement shop is a treasure trove of amazing vintage finds.  I could have spent hours trawling through the racks of fur coats, pretty dresses, leather bags and jewellery.  Plus they have an amazing collection of patterned jumpers.  This place is definitely worth a stop in if you are a big fan of vintage like myself.
  • Sissy Boy. This was a great find for clothing and home wear in typical Dutch design.  Again the prices were really great and the clothes were super stylist and trend focused.  I also loved the home wear which had a cool, minimal feel.
  • Tiger of Sweden is more established and international, however this was my first encounter with the brand.  There is a strong Scandinavian feel to the design and I immediately loved the effortless and minimal vibe of the clothes.
  • Finally for food, I discovered Marqt.  An entirely organic and eco-friendly groceries shop.  Their ethos is all about locally sourced, slow food and products from overseas are all fair trade and chemical free.  My favourite was the deli-counter with a delicious range of cheese all from nearby farms.  Very yum!

I love exploring Europeans cities to find the coolest shops to share with you.  Like what you read? Check out my Guide to Shopping in Milan’s Porta Ticinese District…

2 thoughts on “Amsterdam Style – My lowdown on the cities shops.

  1. Pingback: Lovely Amsterdam – How to explore a city when you are visiting for work… – Allegra Ghiloni

  2. Pingback: Secret Milan – Shopping in Milan’s ‘Porta Ticinese’ District… – Allegra Ghiloni

Leave a Reply

